What about Kihon (Basics)?

Shotokan Karate Kihon (Basics)

Through the Kihon (basics) in the Shotokan Karate system, you will learn Stances (Tachikata), Punches (Tsuki), Blocks (Uke), and Kicks (Geri). At each belt level, you learn basic through advanced variations of the Kihon along with the flow of body movement, hitting proper targets, executing correct stances, practical applications, and more.  


Below are the first 11 basic Kihon you will learn and build on. If you were a fighting character in a video game, these are your characters’ basic move list, and as you continue in your journey, you build on these moves and add advanced variations.

11 Basics



Videos Coming Soon.


More Information


Extra Help